top of page
  • Writer's pictureHula Consulting

What's In My Tea Cup?

All tea comes from the same plant – Camellia sinensis. That's right - white, green, yellow, oolong, black, and puer/dark #tea are all from the same little leaf.

Tea starts out as fresh green leaves before being processed into their specific tea type. It is the cultivated and processed leaves of this plant that creates the second most consumed beverage in the world. Bonus points if you just guessed that water is the most consumed.

Shoot, yeah!

Camellia sinensis is a subtropical to tropical evergreen plant native to Asia, though it is commercially grown all over the world. It takes between 5-7 years before the plant has matured enough to be used in the making of tea, and can be cultivated for more than 100 years. For every pound of finished tea, there are 4.5 pounds of freshly plucked tea leaves, which equates to about 2-3 thousand shoots.

All tea comes from the same plant.

How many types?

There are six major tea types produced - white, green, yellow, oolong, black, and puer/dark. It is the processing of the tea at origin that determines which type of tea the freshly plucked leaf will become. During processing, the leaf’s enzymes are exposed to oxygen. This chemical reaction, or oxidation, can transform the green leaf into the many shades of green to brown to black.

Oxidation is the processing step that has the greatest impact when determining the tea type. Oxidation is sometimes incorrectly referred to as fermentation. That's a different process, and you can read more about that here. An apple’s flesh turning brown after being cut and the leaves on trees turning colors in fall are both examples of oxidation.

White Tea

White teas are so named due to the white down that covers the new leaf buds. Traditionally, white teas came only from the Fujian province of China. However, today, any tea that follows the white processing method is considered white tea. White tea is closest to the natural tea plant. Processing methods of white tea do nothing to encourage or stop oxidation. The natural bruising of the leaf during harvesting and transportation allows oxidation to start on part of the leaves. This produces subtle aromatics, taste, and color.

TRY THIS: For a delicate white tea blended with rosemary, lavender and vanilla try this Alpine White Tea from Lake Missoula Tea Company.

Green Teas

Green teas traditionally came from China and Japan; however, the processing methods of each are radically different and produce completely different tea aromatics and tastes. Today, green tea comes from most tea-producing countries due to its popularity but is still defined by which processing method was used. Green teas need to keep their fresh green color, for this to happen, oxidation must be limited. Heat is applied to the leaf to arrest oxidation. In China, the heat source that is applied is referred to as pan firing. Due to this, Chinese green teas tend to have a nutty, smoky vegetal taste. In Japan, steam is used as the heat source, thus, Japanese green teas have a brighter emerald leaf color with a more sea-like, fresh taste.

Yellow Teas

One of the primary goals of making yellow tea is to remove the characteristic grassiness of green tea. Yellow tea is like that of green tea, but with an added step of swelting the tea. This allows the tea to oxidize at a slow rate for a brief period before the tea is fully heated. This produces a far more mellow taste than most green teas. This also gives the leaves a slightly yellow coloring during the drying process. Yellow tea is often placed in the same category as green tea but is truly in its own category.

Oolong Teas

Oolong teas, sometimes referred to as wulong or blue tea by some creative marketers, are the huge bridge between green and black teas. Oolong teas can be as green as green teas and as black as black teas. Oolongs are sub-categorized by the amount of oxidation and leaf shape. Traditionally, oolongs come from China and Taiwan (Formosa), and still, today are the major producers of these teas. Oolongs are prized for their complex aromatics and flavor, as well as their ability to be steeped several times. Greener, less oxidized oolongs tend to have more floral notes; mid-oxidized oolongs tend to have more stone fruit notes; and darker oolongs tend to have more nutty woody notes.

TRY THIS: For a beautifully flavored oolong that tastes incredible hot or iced, try the Tropical Coconut Bao Zhong Oolong from Rishi Tea and Botanicals.

Black Teas

Black teas are the most consumed tea in the US. Though over 60% of the black tea in the US comes from Argentina, historically black tea was a product of China, India, and Sri Lanka (Ceylon). In some countries, black tea is referred to as brown or red tea. It is important to note that today the term red tea is most commonly used to refer to rooibos tea, which is an herbal tea not made from Camellia sinensis.

Black teas are considered fully oxidized and produce a full-bodied robust, and an earthy cup of tea. Black tea is strong enough to stand up to milk and spices; hence why it is used in Breakfast teas and Masala Chais. Chai is a Hindi word for tea, though most commonly used to refer to a spiced tea in the US.

TRY THIS: For a really flavorful traditional chai with a hint of heat, try this Masala Chai from Tea Sip as a regular black tea or crafted as a latte for a real treat.

Black tea is strong enough to stand up to milk and spices; hence why it is used in Breakfast teas.

Puer/Dark Teas

Puer teas historically come from the Puer region of China, though other areas of China produce a similar style of tea. Many tea companies refer to this category of tea as dark tea due to its rich and dark brew. Currently, puer teas refer to teas that come from the Yunnan Province of China, and dark teas refer to other regions in China or other countries. Dark teas are aged teas that subjectively become better with age and will fetch a higher price the older they become. Oxidation is never fully arrested so the teas become darker over time. Traditional puer teas can take up to 5 years before they have matured and developed their flavor, with many consumers wanting 10-15 year-old teas. These teas are referred to as Sheng (uncooked) teas.

To speed up the process, producers may add microbes to the tea so that in 1-2 years the tea tastes like it has aged longer. These are referred to as Shu (cooked) teas. The taste difference between these 2 styles of tea is vastly different. Cooked teas tend to be more earthy, wet farm, and musty in flavor; while uncooked teas tend to be more earthy, spicy, and smooth in flavor.

No matter which tea type is your personal favorite, all teas start out as a fresh green leaf of the Camellia sinensis plant. The processing and control of oxidation determine which flavors and tastes are developed for you to enjoy.

Thirsty for more?

The #teaexperts at Hula Consulting can help with sourcing teas, flavorings, and ingredients for your tea line. We're ready to assist your tea business! Email to or call 561.600.7025 to discuss how we can help your tea company.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page